Pay it Forward

I watched this movie again this morning and I forgot how much I liked it.  It really is a good idea.  I guess it’s not so complicated to think that if we just simply do good things while asking nothing in return except to go good things for more people that a lot more good things will get done!  Even so, while watching the movie, I find myself promising to do more things.  Just. Do. More. Good.

Apropos, I suppose since I ran into a friend, Kelly Brown, at the Dogwood Arts concert last night.  He’s the lead instructor at Knoxville’s alternative high school, Laurel High.  He was talking excitably about all the new things going on for Laurel and all the things he’d love to do to give MORE to the school than he already does.  He’s wanting to completely convert the school to green power and would love to raise awareness of green power AND Laurel School’s commitment to it  at the same time.  He’s also wanting to organize a concert benefit for the school.  This from a guy that is already giving so much of himself to that school. 

It’s tough to not be motivated by his energy.  I’m pretty sure that’s why he’s been able to change so many young (and old) lives.   While we chatted, my brain was churning out ideas to help him get more attention and support that they need.  In what was seemingly a joke, he asked if I’d like to join the Board.  I reminded him that I don’t even have kids!  Hah!  But I think his point was just that, “No, you don’t have kids that would benefit from helping Laurel high School, but that doesn’t mean Laurel High School can’t  benefit from what you have to offer.”  

So what DO I have to offer?  I love being active in the community that I have grown to love so much.  It really is a wonderful school that offers something  unique to students and parents here and I do want to do more.  So, are you listening, Kelly?  I’m here if you need me; let’s keep talking!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

One Comment Add yours

  1. John Wright says:

    Kelly Brown really is an inspiring guy. Glad you find him that way, too.

Leave a comment