Question of the day

Now, I should preface this with the fact that I don’t know THAT much about the Jewish faith, and this isn’t really about anything Jewish, I just chose it as an example because I’m tired, and it’s all I could think of. 

(If this offends my Jewish friends in some way I’m not thinking of, please let me know and I will take it down.)

With that being said, isn’t it forbidden for practicing Jews to consume pork products?  OK, yes?  I thought so. 

My question is this:  If there were more Jewish citizens than any other religious group; how would you feel if they wanted to make bacon illegal (even though you have no religious belief tied to bacon whatsoever, it would be off limits for you)?

Comment below.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. CristaClaire says:

    Are we talkin’ illegal bacon or all pork products??

  2. sam says:

    Religious beliefs have no place in civil law.

  3. ckmarler says:

    Well, you see Sam, that’s my point. In my opinion, if we base our laws on someone’s religion, then we’re just asking for people to break them saying, “But I don’t believe in your religion so I don’t like your laws”. I just can’t believe that so many people aren’t thinking ahead enough to realize how this could impact our country. It’s all fine and good when “the ruling party” wants to base everything on THEIR religion, but what happens when there are more people who believe like WE do or, god forbid, there are more people whose religious beliefs are even more radical. Then would they still want to legislate based on popular religion??

Leave a comment