Stuff that works

This is the first in what I hope will be a series of endorsement type blog posts. I don’t get any sort of payment for endorsing anything, but this will just be a post about random things that make my life easier or things I just like.  I’m naming them after a Guy Clark song that works for me.

Enjoy.  Or don’t.

 

I love my car.  I have a 2000 Subaru Forester with nearly 170,000 miles on it.  The downside to having a care that is a little, um, “aged” is that sporadically there are minor problems that arise.

I was having some trouble with a coolant leak.  I spoke with my amazing mechanic (Human’s BP on Western).  He told me that as long as I kept coolant in it, I wouldn’t have any problems but that repairing the leak would be costly.

After a couple of months of checking my coolant levels and spending an insane amount of money on antifreeze and coolant (I was filling it up about twice a week), I looked into some options like Fix-a-flat for tire leaks but for radiators.  I found quite a few but settled on Bars Pelletized Radiator Stop Leak.

It seemed easy enough.  Pour the stuff in there and then fill radiator.  Surely I can do that.  I didn’t pay very much attention and didn’t realize that the pellets might not be melted.  When I poured it into the radiator, I saw that the pellets had indeed not melted and assumed I had screwed up the process.  It said not to force the pellets into the radiator, so I gave up and added water to the radiator and called it a day.  I assumed I’d have to repeat the process in a week or so and do it right.

Fast forward a month and I still haven’t had any leaking.  I’ve been keeping a close eye on it because I thought I had screwed it up.  Evidently this stuff is near idiot proof, if you have a radiator leak, I’d recommend it.

Leave a comment